Faculty Named to 2019 List of Innovative Illinois Researchers

October 4, 2019

Three Illinois Institute of Technology faculty members have been recognized in the 2019 Researchers to Know listing by the Illinois Science & Technology Coalition (ISTC). They are:

  • Assistant Professor Rahman Azari, director of the Ph.D. program in architecture at the College of Architecture, for his work in the areas of invention, smart cities, and sustainability
  • Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Boris Pervan, Armour College of Engineering, for his work in the areas of navigation systems, algorithms, and aerospace
  • Professor of Mechanical Engineering Matthew Spenko, Armour College of Engineering, for his work in the areas of robotics, autonomous systems, and transportation

According to the ISTC website, the organization’s partners from around the state nominated university researchers whose work displays a high degree of excellence. Also emphasized were recent milestones, such as publishing an influential paper, receiving national recognition, or commercializing a new innovation.

The Illinois Science & Technology Coalition is a member-driven nonprofit​, nonpartisan organization that cultivates technology-based economic development throughout Illinois. University Distinguished Professor of Law Lori Andrews, Chicago-Kent College of Law, and Mohammad Shahidehpour, Distinguished Bodine Chair Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and director of the Robert W. Galvin Center for Electricity Innovation, were members of the inaugural Researchers to Know listing published in 2018.     

Media Contact

Media Relations
Office of Marketing & Communications
| 312.567.3132